35 commander salon with twin Ford 427's.  Pulling them out and re powering with new 454's. 

Questions:

1) does anyone have any links to a swap like this?

2) does anyone know anything or have links to modifying the cradle (not sure that's what its called in a boat)engine mounts?

3) anyone have 454's in their 35 commander?  If so what kinda cursing speed are you seeing (and RPM) also what is your planing speed.

The engine parts is strait forward and something I do every day for a living but have a few questions about proper alignment of the new engine's and drivers in conjunction with the shafts.

Any and all opinions, links and comments are ready.  PS I have the super disk (can located it but I know I have it somewhere). 

Views: 907

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

"If so what kinda cursing speed are you seeing"

There are times when a lack of spell check actually makes a post simultaneously funny and much more accurate than if spell check was working...that's one of the all-time greatest, and I mean that as a sincere compliment. lol

I'm working my way through a gas to diesel engine install on my Roamer refit, so "cursing speed" is a phrase that I can personally attest to...it goes up every time the engine install goes wrong. But don't lose faith. You've got a couple of great options. One is to get ahold of Lee Dahlen, who's a regular contributor  here and mechanical genius with these boats. The other is to have welding and metal cutting and/or shaping machines...or know of a local machine shop that can make things to your specifications.

It ain't rocket science, it's worse, because rockets are assembled with parts that have tolerances measured in tens of thousandths of an inch. Measure everything. Make no assumptions except to assume the worst....unless you call Lee, and then it's much easier.